SIGN IN | REGISTER

The Gap Year exchange potential

admin
Posted by Studentbox user
on 22/09/2017 at in  Everything else
Hello all!

Hope you have a splendid term 3 and are settling into your school holidays before the fun begins again!

I'm studying primary teaching at Curtin University and am fortunate enough to be a Student Ambassador this year. Student Ambassadors are your go-to for asking questions about what its like to study at Curtin. I've also lived on campus and worked on campus. Today's post, though, centres around a little known fact about me - I took a gap year after finishing high school and went overseas for a year-long exchange. So if you hold even the vaguest thought about the potential of an exchange after high school, I urge you to read on.

So exchange you say... why?

Well... Why not!?

I knew I would go to uni eventually but I wanted to travel, to see the world and I like to do things differently. 

I did my research via old mate Google to see which organisations seemed to best offer the kind of experience I had in mind. I sent out some basic applications to a couple of organisations and waited. 

Now, this was in year 11 so if you're already in year 12, you may have missed the cut off date to go away next year. However, if you do plan on going to university (or even if you're not thinking about it), just FYI most universities do offer exchanges depending on the course you've applied for so *don't stress* it's not the end of the world. Some of my uni friends have been exchange and you can check out the ones Curtin offers through this link http://life.curtin.edu.au/explore-global-opportunities.htm

But, I digress!